BUSINESS OFFICE, MPL


MANAGEMENT
Chief Admin Officer (CAO)

Anne Footer (afooter@ucsd.edu), Oceans and Atmosphere Section
Supervision and leadership for MPL administration, Human Resources (Academic/Staff), Financial, Space Management, Facilities, PI Exceptions, Advance Approvals, SIO and UCSD Campus Liaison, MPL Shop Operations, general Policy and Procedures, Internal Controls, Proposal and Award Negotiations, NOAA Cooperative Institute (CIMEAS)


HUMAN RESOURCES (mpl-hr@sio.ucsd.edu)

Earline (Earl) Delos Santos (earl@ucsd.edu), Human Resources/Academic Personnel Manager

  • Academic Review Files (non-professorial titles)
  • Leaves (academics)
  • Payroll/UCPath (academics)
  • Employee Relations
  • Labor Relations
  • Visiting & Research Scientists Appointments
  • Visa

Colleen Leach (cleach@ucsd.edu), HR Generalist

  • Benefits (FML, Workers Comp, COVID Leave, etc.)
  • Equity & Reclassification Requests (staff)
  • Graduate & Visiting Graduate Students
  • OnBoarding
  • Payroll/UCPath
  • SIO Remote Location Allowance (RLA)
  • Terminations/Separations
  • Visa

Tina Nguyen (t7nguyen@ucsd.edu), HR Generalist

  • Staff Hiring/Recruitment (career, contract)
  • OnBoarding
  • Payroll (staff)
  • Performance Management
  • Post Docs
  • Visiting Scholars
  • Visa
  • Academic Appointments (Assistant Project Scientists)

Erik Vanderheiden (evanderheiden@ucsd.edu), HR Assistant 

  • EcoTime/Timekeeping
  • Payroll/UCPath
  • OnBoarding
  • Undergraduate Student Hiring
  • Staff Hiring (limited, temporary, volunteers)
  • Terminations/Separations

FISCAL MANAGEMENT
MPL Fiscal Operations Officer

Irene Xavier (ixavier@ucsd.edu), Supervision of finance and operations, DSA

Fiscal Manager

Jeff Woods (jewoods@ucsd.edu), Recharge Manager (22%, fee, shop) Differential Income, Banking Funds, PI Start Up, Budgeting, Financial Reporting, Service Agreements Invoicing/Billing, GCCP, UCPath review, Default Reviews

Financial Service Analyst

TBA, Financial Service Analyst

Business Office Assistant

Angela Douglas (adouglas@ucsd.edu), Travel review & Award Reporting

Research Administrators (Pre and Post Award Administration) MPL-FundManagers-g@ucsd.edu

Josue Ayala (jiayala@ucsd.edu), PIs: Anderson, Merrifield, Piestruszka, Rogowski, Terrill

Tiffany Donnelly (tplengsangtip@ucsd.edu), PIs: Anderson, Merrifield, Piestruszka, Rogowski, Terrill

Chimchanbo (Chim) Uk (chuk@ucsd.edu), PIs: Anderson; Dickson Program Income Invoicing and Revenue

Liz Felando (efelando@ucsd.edu), PIs: Baumann-Pickering, D’Spain, Deane, Frasier, Hildebrand, Jones, Stokes

Heather Fryling (hfryling@ucsd.edu), PIs: Dickson, Martz, Reynolds, Stramski, Thode, Zumberge

Daniel Gunderson (dgunderson@ucsd.edu), PIs: Alford, Jaffe, Lucas, MacKinnon, Pinkel, Savage, Smith, Voet, Waterhouse

Shelly Vitug (mlvitug@ucsd.edu), PIs: Buckingham, Gerstoft, Hodgkiss, Kuperman, Lenain, Meyer, Sarkar, Song, Rogers

Research Operations Support Group

Manager: Annastaccia Gibaud (agibaud@ucsd.edu), Purchasing, Shipping, Facilities, Travel

Purchasing & Shipping (mpl-purchasing@sio.ucsd.edu)

Martha Flores (mlflores@ucsd.edu), fabrications

Letitia Harrison (laharrison@ucsd.edu), equipment inventory

Faculty Support (MPL-Faculty-Assistants-g@ucsd.edu )

BethAnn Clausen (bclausen@ucsd.edu), Spiess Hall
PIs: Buckingham, Deane, Gerstoft, Hodgkiss, Jaffe, Kuperman, Myer, Reynolds, Sarkar, Song, Stramski, Stokes, Thode

Sienna Thomas (smt006@ucsd.edu), Isaacs Hall
PIs: Terrill, Merrifield, Rogowski, Pietruszka

Diana Alvarado (dcalvarado@ucsd.edu), Isaacs Hall
PIs: Terrill, Merrifield, Rogowski, Pietruszka

Eva Friedlander (efriedlander@ucsd.edu), Keck/OAR/MESOM
MPL Summer Internship Program
PIs: Alford, Anderson, Dickson, Le Boyer, Lucas, Mackinnon, Pinkel, Savage, Smith, Voet, Waterhouse

Colin Lamerdin (clamerdin@ucsd.edu), Ritter Hall
PIs: Baumann-Pickering, Frasier, Hildebrand, Jones, Lonsdale, Pizzo, Wiggins

Justin Atkins (juatkins@ucsd.edu), Ritter Hall
PIs: Lenain
Purchasing
Shipping


FACILITIES

Will Rivera (wrivera@ucsd.edu), Oceans and Atmosphere Section
Building maintenance requests, building access, office-lab assignments and access, furniture


MPL MACHINE SHOP

Frank Biegler (fbiegler@ucsd.edu)